Designated National University Corporation System

1. Purport of the System

In April 2017, this system was established through the amendment of the National University Corporation Act to enable the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology to designate national university corporations for which there is a certain degree of expectation that they will develop their education and research activities to the world's top-level specifically as "Designated National University Corporations", with the aim of significantly improving education and research levels of Japanese universities and facilitating their creation of innovation.

2. Designated National University Corporations

< Conditions for designation >

Designated national university corporations need to compete with foreign major universities in a global competitive environment beyond the framework of domestic competition. Therefore, for filing an application, universities must be at the top level in Japan in three aspects, namely, research quality, collaboration with society, and international cooperation.

Check the following for applications

[Research quality]

- Number of newly adopted programs for grant-in-aid for scientific research
- Quality factor (percentage of the number of papers included in the top 10% cited papers after correction)

[Collaboration with society]

- · Percentage of earnings from consigned and joint research
- · Percentage of earnings from donations
- Percentage of income from patent rights, etc.

[International cooperation]

- Ratio of internationally co-authored papers
- Percentage of international students and Japanese students dispatched to foreign universities (undergraduate and graduate courses)

< Special provisions regarding designated national university corporations >

- Expand the scope for financial contributions for promoting utilization of research results (investment in consulting companies, etc.)
- O Consider the need to secure internationally excellent human resources in setting criteria for remuneration and wages for officers and employees
- Special provisions for approval for investments of surplus funds (Approval of the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology is not required.)
 - *Further deregulation is to be considered depending on requests from corporations.

3. Examination Process and Status of Designation

For the designation of designated national university corporations for the third medium-term goal period, a committee consisting of external intellectuals including non-Japanese intellectuals (Designated National University Corporation Sub-committee, National University Corporation Sectional Committee, National University Corporation Evaluation Committee) conducted screenings of documentation, hearing examinations and on-site inspections. The Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology made final decisions by hearing opinions of the National University Corporation Evaluation Committee.

[Examination process]

2016 Started to publicly seek applications (Nov. 30)

2017

- Closed applications (Mar. 31)
- Examination by the Designated National University Corporation Sub-committee (hearing examinations and on-site inspections; May 27 to Jun. 2)
- Designation of Tohoku University, the University of Tokyo, and Kyoto University and request for further enhancement of initiatives made to candidates (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Hitotsubashi University, Nagoya University, and Osaka University) by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Jun. 30)
- Confirmation of further enhancement of proposed initiatives; designation by MEXT Minister (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Nagoya University) (3/20)
- 2018 Confirmation of further enhancement of proposed initiatives; designation by MEXT Minister (Osaka University) (10/23)
- 2019 Confirmation of further enhancement of proposed initiatives; designation by MEXT Minister (Hitotsubashi University) (9/5)

[Designated national university corporations]

Tohoku University (designated on June 30, 2017)

The University of Tokyo (designated on June 30, 2017)

Kyoto University (designated on June 30, 2017)

Tokyo Institute of Technology (designated on March 20, 2018)

Nagoya University (designated on March 20, 2018)

Osaka University (designated on October 23, 2018)

Hitotsubashi University (designated on September 5, 2019)