



Dear Professor,

Since its inception in 1998, the For Women in Science partnership expands each year. To date, the L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards have distinguished 57 eminent women scientists at the height of their career and the International Fellowships have supported 135 promising young women scientists to pursue doctoral and postdoctoral research projects. In recent years, a network of National Fellowship programs at the doctoral level, now in over 40 countries with new programs launching each year, has encouraged over 500 young women to continue their scientific research studies within their country of origin.

The 2008 Awards marked the 10th anniversary of the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards. On this occasion, we published the enclosed book in celebration of the Laureates who, by their contributions to scientific research, their passion and their humanity, have set the example for the future of science.

The 2008 L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards Jury was presided by Professor Gunter Blobel, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1999, in the presence of Professor Christian de Duve, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1974 and Founding President of the Awards. The Jury designated the following Laureates in Life Sciences:

Professor Lihadh AL-GAZALI (UNITED ARAB EMIRATES) for AFRICA AND ARAB STATES

Associate Professor V. Narry KIM (REPUBLIC OF KOREA) for ASIA-PACIFIC

Professor Ada YONATH (ISRAEL) for EUROPE

Professor Ana BELEN ELGOYHEN (ARGENTINA) for LATIN AMERICA

Professor Elisabeth BLACKBURN (USA) for NORTH AMERICA

We are pleased to launch the call for nominations for the 2010 L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards "For Women in Science" dedicated to the Life Sciences.

The five US\$100,000 Awards will be presented in March 2010 at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris to five women scientists who have made an outstanding contribution to scientific advancement.

You are invited to submit candidates for the 2010 L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards in Life Sciences. You can propose outstanding women scientists from any continent.

You will find enclosed a call for nominations describing the nominating procedures, the official nomination form (one per geographic region) and a brochure of previous Award Laureates from 1998 to 2008.

To make it easier for you to fill out the nomination forms onto, we have also included them on the enclosed USB key for your use. Download the forms on to your computer and fill them in. If you have all other supporting documents digitally, you can submit your entire file by email if you wish, to lorealunescoawards@dgc.loreal.com

THE DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING NOMINATIONS IS JUNE 15[™] 2009

We thank you for your active participation in ensuring that the best women in research from each continent are recognized and rewarded for their scientific excellence.

Yours Sincerely,

Renée CLAIR (for UNESCO)

Jennifer CAMPBELL

(for the L'ORÉAL Foundation)

Executive Secretariat
L'ORÉAL-UNESCO Awards