We express our heartfelt reverence for the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Physics to Isamu Akasaki, tenured professor at Meijo University and distinguished professor at Nagoya University; Hiroshi Amano, professor at Nagoya University Graduate School; and Shuji Nakamura, professor at the University of California at Santa Barbara.

These awards reflect an appreciation of the research achievements in the area of blue light-emitting diodes.

The awards to Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura illustrate to the world Japan’s high level of academic research.  They give enormous encouragement and pride to the Japanese people.

We at MEXT would like to take the opportunity of these awards to further bolster our support for academic research, including building and strengthening research environments as well as encouraging the growth of young researchers.

Hakubun Shimomura
Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
October 7, 2014


(Research Promotion Bureau, Promotion Policy Division)